Skip to main content

Welcome to the Stahl Elementary School Library: Pictures for Projects

This guide provides information about the Stahl Library.

Using Pictures from the Web

When you are search for images on websites it is important that you make sure that you have permission to use the image and that you cite the source or tell where you got the image from.  There are many ways you can cite your source depending on the type of project you are creating.  

  • You can put a list of all the images and their sources at the end of your project
  • You can put the source on the page/slide where the image is
  • You can use a technology tool to stamp the citation on the image itself

Photo Sources for All Ages

Photo sources in first column have some filtering, with content more appropriate for elementary students.  Please read all points of information regarding contribution, advertisements, and outside links. 

Library Databases with Images

Access Discovery Streaming through Launchpad.

After you login, click on ADVANCED SEARCH under the search box at top.  Change BY MEDIA TYPE to IMAGES and then type search term in the box.

discovery streaming

Type search term in the search box and choose GRAPHICS or IMAGES tab when the results pop up.

database icon

database icon

Photos for Class

photos for class

  • Citation watermarked on the picture
    • The name of the author
    • The name of the photo
    • A link to the original photo
    • The name and type of license along with a link to read it
  • Filtered content, appropriate for elementary (shows puppies when inappropriate search terms are entered)
  • Linked to other photo sites, so caution elementary students to stay within site when downloading/viewing images

Pics4Learning

pics4learning.com

  • Curated image library, free for educational use
  • Downloadable images
  • Save images to Google Drive
  • Photographer retains copyright of image. Citation present to copy/paste
  • Filtered content, appropriate for elementary

Pixnio

website icon

  • Public domain images for personal and commercial use
  • Free to download, edit, share, copy and distribute
  • No attribution required
  • Filtered content, appropriate for elementary
  • Search by color or topic
  • Ads present on site
  • Ability to upload photos

Sources with some Restrictions

Resources in this column may not include filtering of content. Content use may be restricted by licenses, and will require the user to be familiar with Creative Commons licenses. 

NASA

website link

  • Includes images, video, audio
  • Downloadable
  • NASA must be acknowledged as the source
  • Some images may contain copyright restrictions

Pexels

pexels header

  • Free for personal and commercial use, not for sales
  • Free to download, edit, modify photos
  • Free stock videos
  • No attribution required. Giving credit to the photographer or Pexels is appreciated.
  • Includes sponsored photos that redirect to a sales link
  • Account creation requires parent permission, accounts not required for use
  • Ability to upload photos
  • Not filtered for students

Pixabay

 

website icon

  • Royalty free stock photos and videos
  • All content released under Creative Commons CC0, safe to use without asking permission or giving credit to the artist, even for commercial purposes
  • Turn on the SafeSearch filter to help block inappropriate content - browser/session specific

pxhere

pxhere link

  • Find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are released under Creative Commons CC0 into the public domain.
  • Free to copy, modify, distribute, and use images for personal and commercial purposes
  • No attribution required
  • Ability to upload photos
  • Not filtered for students

*NEW* Creative Commons Search

website link

 

  • Searchable images and curated collections, filter by provider, license
  • Photo attribution available with images
  • Licenses available with each image - user must check image to see usage rights and requirements
  • NOT filtered 
  • Opportunities to teach students how to contribute and borrow - refer to Creative Commons tab

Acknowledgement

This guide was created in collaboration with Sara Romine, Woodstone Librarian, Teresa Diaz, Tex Hill Librarian, and Naomi Bates, 

Web Accessibility