Skip to main content

Welcome to the Tex Hill Middle School Learning Commons: Video

Video Citation Styles

Citation Format for Actual Film/Movie - in the theaters or on DVD:

Film Title. Dir. Full Name. Perf. Full Name(s). Studio Name, Year. Film/DVD.

Citation Example:

Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. Dir. George Lucas. Perf. Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher. Twentieth Century Fox, 1977. Film.


Citation Format for Movie/Video Clip from an online site:

Title of Video Clip. Website Name. Website Publisher [May/may not be the same as Website name]. Web. Date You Accessed it Online. <Complete URL of video Clip>.

Citation Example:

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief HD Movie Trailer. YouTube. YouTube. Web. 4 Oct. 2014. <http://youtu.be/xko1Mx5w4tg>.


Citation Format for your OWN ORIGINAL VIDEO Footage (using your own camcorder/phone video camera):

Title of Video Clip. Dir. Your Name. Date You Filmed/Recorded it. Video.

Citation Example:

Poseidon Scene Reenactment. Dir. Teresa Diaz. 8 Sept. 2014. Video.


More Video/Film Citation Examples

Video/Film Citation Generator

Works Cited Slides for Images, Audio & Video

You must always include a Works Cited at the end of your project for any images, audio & video clips you have used. 

Citation Slides Template - Google Drive

*You will need to LOG INTO your NEISD Drive account first & then download the template. 

Video Sources

Discovery Education
(Inside the Library Resources cluster inside Launchpad)

PBS Learning Media

Neo's Clip Archive

Flickr The Commons  (free video by institutions)

Flickr Creative Commons Videos (posted by Flickr users)

Creative Commons Video (YouTube)

3 Good Places to Find Public Domain Video Clips

Public Domain Films (YouTube)


      


Moving Image Archive (Archive.org)
http://archive.org/details/movies

*Blocked at school - look at off campus

This site allows you to either stream or download film materials from a variety of sources.  Movies you'll find on this site are either covered under Creative Commons licenses or are in the public domain.  Please double check to be sure.  

Prelinger Archives: Free Movies

*Blocked at school - look at off campus

This collection contains downloadable films that are covered under a Creative Commons 0 license (Public Domain).  You can find, commercials, educational films, industrial films, some stock footage, and amateur films here.  

Revver

*Blocked at school - look at off campus

Videos included in this collection are automatically assigned a Creative Commons Attribution/Non-Commercial/No Derivatives 2.5 license unless the filmaker decides otherwise.  As always, it's a good idea to check the copyright or CC status of a work before you use it. 

Adobe Spark Tutorial

Web Accessibility