Skip to main content

Welcome to the Churchill High School Library: English 4--Inquiry Project

This guide presents information about the Churchill High School Library.

Overview

This Senior Research Project will incorporate skills you have practiced and mastered in your English classes throughout high school.  Your assignment requires that you choose a topic and related issue about which you feel passionate.  There are several steps in the research process, so you will need to meet the checkpoints along the way in order to manage your time and have a successful experience.

Assignment Documents

Make sure you are logged in to your NEISD Google Account before clicking on any of the links below.

Mrs. Robison's Topic List

Google Doc for Developing Background Knowledge

Digital Note-taking Doc

Research Process

It is important to explore your topic in order to build upon to any background knowledge you already have.

This will be necessary before you begin more formal research so that you can narrow your topic and focus on an issue, develop a research question, and start locating pertinent research resources.

You will explore your topic by utilizing the resources below, and by filling out the Google Doc for Day 1 below.

database logo          

 GOOGLE DOC--Background Knowledge--DAY 1

 

ROBISON SUBMIT YOUR DOC

PEREZ SUBMIT YOUR DOC

Developing a focused research question is a critical step in the research process. This question will guide your search for sources along your journey of gathering information.  

  • Review the notes you took in developing background knowledge about your topic to help you formulate a research question. 
  • You might also consider sub-topics and issues related to your topic.  

Now that you have built background and working knowledge about your issue and created a research question, it's time to locate information to help you address your question and support your position.  As you read articles and sources, you will need to document the information in an organized format. 

The link below is to a Digital Note-taking Doc that you will fill out for EACH source you utilize in your research. 

Digital Note-taking Doc

Need help with SEARCH TERMS?

Sample brainstorming page

Where to find sources:

www.neisd.net > Launchpad > Library Resources 

Database icon database icon  database icon

 


 

If you use sources other than those in our school databases, it is important to evaluate their credibility.  Several criteria should be examined to determine whether or not the source is reliable to use for research.  Click the link below to access a checklist of criteria and questions to consider when evaluating Internet sources. (Make sure you are signed into your NEISD Google account to access)

Reliable Alternative Sources LIst

Source Evaluation Checklist

Click the image below for many helpful tips for doing online research through Google.

Each of your sources will need a citation.  These are generally in MLA format for English assignment, but your teacher will have the final say.  The Purdue Online Writing Lab, aka: the Purdue OWL, has a web site with many helpful features related to the MLA ( and other) standards.  

Purdue University OWL

 

annotated bibliography video

 

The Purdue OWL's Information Regarding Annotated Bibliographies

‚ÄčClick HERE for  MLA Standards for annotated bibliographies

Click HERE for MLA Sample annotated bibligraphies

How to create a Hanging Indent in Google Docs

From Purdue OWL:

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

Research Resources

Library Resources Page from Launchpad


For help with MLA standards, please click the link below.  You will find a sample paper in MLA format, a sample works cited page in MLA format,  standards for citations, and more.

MLA Style Guide at Purdue OWL


HOW TO CITE A BOOK SOURCE (FROM PURDUE OWL)

Basic Format: 

 Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.

EXAMPLE:  Gleick, James. Chaos: Making a New Science. Penguin, 1987.

* the City of Publication should only be used if the book was published before 1900, if the publisher has offices in more than one country, or if the publisher is unknown in North America.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE HELP WITH BOOK CITATIONS FROM PURDUE OWL

 

Web Accessibility